Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Cheers, friends!

That title could also read "Cheers - friends!" because last Hogmanay we were on our own, as we had been for Christmas Day, and I was blipping a sad photo of my saltire/European flags pin as we left the EU as the year ended. It's already 1.30am on Ne'erday and I'm reeling with the effects of food - both preparation and consuming of same - and drink, but it was great to have our closest friends round for our customary Hogmanay dinner of which, I'm afraid, you can see little, because I never thought of taking a photo till it was eaten. I'll tell you instead, because I'm too past it to be thoughtful ...

Venison fillet, cooked swiftly (only 12 minutes) to perfect pinkness in a hot oven, accompanied by roasted vegetables - parsnips with honey, carrots with clementine juice, baby turnips, perfect roast potatoes. Then another Christmas pudding, with custard and brandy butter, followed by coffee and  home-made-not-by-me chocolate rum fudge. We had fizz, red wine and pudding wine, and we talked non-stop - Himself is clearly in full flight when the photo was taken. 

At the bells, we decided to try watching the virtual ceilidh on BBC Alba - you get a much better version of Auld Lang Syne when it's not a pop group playing it. Not one of us speaks Gaelic, but it was lovely in a sort of 1950s way with added Zoom. Di and Rob staggered off into the rain at about 12.40am, and Himself started on the dishes.

Thanks to having two Apple Watch users for dinner, I've learned a few more fun things about my new one. So today I can tell you I've found out my blood oxygen levels and my heart rate throughout the day. I've not been over the door with all the cooking, not to mention cleaning and tidying ...

I've loved my Blip community over what has been a pretty trying year - so here's to all of you for 2022. Happy New Year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.