New Year Joy

Oh, today was the very best way to start the year. Victoria and I arrived early at the Quays as we were interviewed by Speedo. They are embracing outdoor swimming and making films with people like us lol. I was given a lovely red swimsuit which I wore to swim in.

We donned our hats ready to swim. Mine was heavy and large, but I sure made an entrance! Victoria’s was brilliant….a seagull snaffling chips out of a newspaper cone. Of course, we won prizes for the best hats ha ha ha.

I couldn’t swim far in mine. In fact it nearly took me under, being a submarine I shouldn’t have been surprised. We swam the course and took a few vids before getting out and warming up. Speedo provided the drinks and lots of sweet treats. We didn’t want to leave as the atmosphere was fantastic. Everyone had a huge cheesy grin from ear to ear. I’m still buzzing! This is why I do open water swimming…the fun, the excitement, the friendships, the community, the adventure and the absolute joy!

The best news was that the event raised £16,000 for Reuben’s Retreat which supports families with complexly poor children and families of child loss.

(Obviously I didn’t take this pic….thanks to Anthony Devlin….I just loved the joy on my face and that you can see my hat creation and my new cozzie)

Happy New Year everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.