wrperry

By wrperry

Eastern Screech Owl

A few years ago we installed a box near the pond with the hope that Wood Ducks would make it home.  Then I was informed that we had done it all wrong - it needed to be closer to the water.  I was about to have it moved when I discovered an Eastern Screech Owl peering out, similar to this one.  The following year I cleaned out the box in the early spring and left it empty, which was a mistake.  When no owls showed up I did some reading and discovered I should have placed sawdust (a bag of which actually came with the wooden box) in the bottom.  I guess that's a requirement because we now have this cutie who spends about an hour at dawn and dusk peaking out.  She's there all day as I witnessed yesterday when two chickadees were poking around the opening and she raised her head to warn them to move on.  I wish she had opened her eyes fully this morning, but she was clearly ready for her nap.  I placed a photo of the box and surroundings in extras.
(I switched the photos.  I decided I like the view with the entire box better.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.