Cygnus

By Cygnus

A beginning

The Ards Man took off the Christmas tree decorations and neatly rolled up the lights. Then he manhandled the somewhat crispy tree out to the garden, mounds of pine needles in his wake.

I’ve been feeling very bleah after having a very nasty cold (I could almost call it a man cold) since last Monday, when my poor eardrum burst yet again. I lost my voice on Tuesday and it’s croaking its way slowly back. Can you tell I’ve been feeling a bit sorry for myself?

Well, this afternoon I girded my loins and got out the vacuum cleaner, with hope in my heart that I would banish all pine needles. This is not going to happen in reality as there are still little pointy bits lying in wait from about twenty-five years ago, when we first moved in.

The ‘tree corner’ has now been vacuumed, lamp table back in place (the tidy one) and sofa shoved back too. I’m sure the tidying can wait until tomorrow. I wouldn’t want to do too much in my fragile state.

Happy New Year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.