a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Meccano for Grownups

Well, the Christmas decorations are now down, and as a result the house is looking less festive, bur considerably less cluttered.

I've spent the afternoon putting together the gas BBQ that arrived a little while ago.  With everything going on over Christmas I knew that I wouldn't have time to deal with it until around now.  It has been sitting in its box in the garage, waiting for me to unpack it.  If you've ever bought one of these, you will know that they come in pieces with a set of instructions on how to put them together.

I'd read on the Interweb that some folks found the assembly job a bit fiendish so I'd wanted to allow plenty of time for the job.  In the event, the instructions were very clear and the thing went together without a hitch.  I was left with one spare fixing, but only because they supplied 3 rather than the 2 required for the job.  

Out of interest, I've had a go at light painting this, so it is in fact a sequence of shots which are overlaid in Affinity Photo.  This isn't something I've tried before and I probably should have picked a simpler subject for my first go.  As a result I've not quite got this right, but I've used it as my blip anyway. In hindsight I needed to take a better first shot, and to just then add the light enhancements where I wanted to bring out additional details.  As it is the conflicting light sources make parts of the image look blurred which isn't a good end result.  

As you will see, the garage is actually carpeted - a previous owner who owned a vintage car stored it in the garage and obviously felt that it deserved the carpet.  I'm not sure if the carpet was originally in the house and got relocated to the garage, or whether he bought the carpet cheap specially for the garage. I really hope it was the latter.  As you can see from the small patch featured here, it is quite a striking design and wouldn't be that easy for most people to live with.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.