a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Balmy

New Year's Day 2022 was ridiculously balmy for this time of year.  Last year we had frost and a very light sprinkling of snow.  Indeed, so icy was it that we wore micro spikes when we went out for a walk. This year the temperature was in the teens and I was too warm wearing just a light jacket.  Before you wonder, I did have other clothes on as well.

We spent the day as guests of my sister Happy_Janwen and her husband Incredibish. They laid on a lovely lunch, which was followed by a walk across the local fields, and then tea and Christmas Cake.  I have to take my hat off to Janet, I think her Christmas Cake this year is delicious and much better than my own attempt.

Inevitably this is shot of the mill pond at Huntingford is going to be a blip snap with Bish, as it was undoubtedly the best light we experienced during our walk.  This one is a  HDR created from two separate exposures. For some reason I'd forgotten that the camera could do this automatically for me until very recently.  I have however combined the 2 RAW files in Capture One rather than use the in-camera JPG file as that gave me more control of the editing process.  I would much rather take control of the various editing choices available in post than let the camera decide for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.