Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Memories

It poured down rain most of the day today so I decided to use the lightbox for a photo.  I had dusted the bookshelves (and I really should say  vacuumed and mopped!  way over due!!!) and found this music box.  My Mom had given it to me years ago so I decided to use it, a photo of us and a dried flower.    Not really happy with the layout of this one but....

on the lid of the music box is a white shadow/light that looks like an angel.  Maybe some of you won't see it but I know some of you will.   I did not notice it until I was looking at the photos on the laptop.   I had a moment for sure!

The music box still works and the tune is...of course...Memory from Cats.    

Our warm weather is leaving us for a while with lows going to be in the 40s and highs only in the 50s this week.  Some rain but mostly sunshine.  Really my favorite kind of weather for hiking.  I need to make a plan!  

I was reading an email this morning from an online publication I get once a week and it happened to be about living life to the fullest.   This statement by Hannah Arendt in her book Love and St. Augustine made me sit up straight as it was very much what I was trying to say in my words yesterday.  


In their fear of death, those living fear life itself, a life that is doomed to die… The mode in which life knows and perceives itself is worry. Thus the object of fear comes to be fear itself. Even if we should assume that there is nothing to fear, that death is no evil, the fact of fear (that all living things shun death) remains.
Fearlessness is what love seeks. Love as craving is determined by its goal, and this goal is freedom from fear… Such fearlessness exists only in the complete calm that can no longer be shaken by events expected of the future… Hence the only valid tense is the present, the Now.


Something to think about. 

In the extra is a blooming camellia on my bush.  Finally!   I think it just needed to have some rain!!  

Have a great week blippers.  Keep your fingers crossed the washer part gets here and I get the washing machine fixed...or have to go buy a new one.   I really need to wash clothes!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.