Time Alone with Odette

My granddaughter, who's 8, was in desperate need of some alone time with her Grandma Kate...and ditto I can say with certainty! It's been a while and she spends a lot of time with her overly energetic (but cute) 4 year old brother. So she stayed on last night after I brought the little one home to his parents. We had a grand evening, with dinner just as requested, a lingering bubble bath (just her not me!) and finally a long, quiet sleep. She actually slept late this morning. It's noisy at her house, what with a family of four and a dog in a small apartment. So she revels in her time at my house.

After a breakfast of bacon and eggs she wanted to help me build the Pilates machine that I just bought. We got the whole thing done, right down to the last screw! 

Then I had the pleasure of spending a couple of hours working with Energia on our trip to Iceland. And she and Odette got to meet for a few minutes before my daughter-in-law arrived to pick her up.

All in all an excellent day, despite the rain and wind that has moved in this evening!

I managed to escape outdoors for all of 5 minutes and found the snow still lingering in the shady spots. It's dramatically warmer now - 48F/8.8C than it has been, and surely the snow will be gone tomorrow. I love this Mealy Pixie Cup Lichen - Cladonia chlorophaea - which I found on a rock in my garden last year for the first time. It brings to mind all sorts of fairy-like creatures, don't you think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.