fovea centralis

By fovea

pocket watch

my grandpa and i would sometimes go to the swap-meet on weekend mornings when i was a kid. my grandpa was very handy and liked to fix things. we would find old watches and fix them up. i have a wooden display case (at my mom's house) full of pocket watches from the 1900s. most were broken when purchased, but run like a charm now if wound.

on my wedding day, my mom gave me a little gift bag. there was something in the bag for both me and Brian. i opened my little box, but didn't look at Brian's gift. however, my mom insisted. in the bag was a shiny pocket watch. i could hardly breathe.

my grandpa and i were close. it broke my heart when he passed away. i hadn't looked at one of those watches in a long time. it meant so much to me that my mom gave it to Brian on behalf of my grandpa.

and i love how much Brian loves it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.