Nuthatch #3

A shorter walk this morning at Yarrow Valley Country Park as there was rain forecast by lunchtime. 
It was nice to see a couple of female Goosanders on the big lake, but they were a little too far away for decent shots in the light, so I went for a nuthatch. All around Yarrow, there are little piles of bird seed put there by the locals so the little birds are never too far away. I liked this shot as it shows the mottled effect on its rump - not something you normally see. 
21 species today, bringing my total to 56 so far. 
I have a bit of potting on of my seedlings to do and then the bird feeders need their fortnightly clean this afternoon. Luckily the rain amounted to no more than a light shower that didn't last long and now the sun is shining, so I'd better make the most of it. Tomorrow we are expecting the start of a cold snap. 

I'll catch up with the remainder of your journals later this evening. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.