Do Not Throw Stones, High Tide, Lower Upnor

Today was my last day of freedom before my return to work so I felt I had to get out for a short micro trip before the commuting slog kicks in again. This isn't helped by it now costing me just shy of £400 a month to get to London Victoria five days a week!
Me and my brother decided to visit Lower Upnor for a walk along the foreshore of the Medway. What we forgot to do was check the tides -  when we got there we discovered it was high tide so we could only walk for about two hundred metres along a path before we had to turn back. Luckily, one of the pubs, The Pier, was open so we decided to pop in for a pint. The poor landlord seemed to be working on his own due to staff Covid shortages but he was still so welcoming and brought our drinks to our table. The poor chap was working so hard in what must have been really trying circumstances but he still smiled at us and wished a good rest of the day, as we did him.
On the way home we just popped in to the local Sainsbury's so that I could get one or two bits for work tomorrow.
I think "Do Not Throw Stones" may a good metaphor for the year ahead. If we all work together with a bit of forgiveness, kindness and thoughtfulness then maybe less missiles, verbal or otherwise, will be chucked!
The extra I spotted on my way to the pub.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.