Fireplace Still Life

Going back to work was about how I'd pictured it. Not so terribly awful, just very difficult to readjust. I obviously wasn't the only one feeling that way either - it seemed like children were falling asleep left and right. 

There were some fine "welcome back to work" moments though. Such as discovering I was correct about a budget being due in two weeks, just unaware I had to submit two separate budgets, one of which was due immediately. Others were upset it hadn't been made clear it would be due so soon. I was upset it hadn't been made clear it existed in the first place. Fortunately I have experience being unaware of important things and thus am not yet ready to panic. 

Later, at home, feeling tired and uninspired while looking around for photo, I had a second look at this tableau next to the fireplace. I thought, "I can relate to this log. It's hard to let go of that holiday spirit. It probably wants to avoid going back to work just like I did." 

Well, enjoy it while you can, Mr. Log!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.