zippyhippy

By zippyhippy

Three Runs!

A small personal achievement for me today as I managed to run on two consecutive days. I appreciate that they are neither the furthest nor the fastest runs that I have ever logged but it is a wee start and it's good to know that I can do it as it is kind of pivotal to my new training plan. Next week I will probably pencil in my slower 'recovery run' for Friday. Quite pleased that I have my 3 running days on the calendar already and it's only Friday, which frees up tomorrow for a bike riding day.

A little bit apprehensive, in a good way, about tomorrow's planned 40+ mile ride as, apart from recently at the Velodrome, I have no real experience of group riding. You know that nervous anticipation that overcomes you when you are about to take a leap into the great unknown. I do not have any concept of pace/cadence when I am on the bike as I usually just go myself and go on feeling. When I am out running, I know exactly which pace to go depending on which distance that I am running and how I am feeling. I am hoping that over time I can develop the same skill on the bike. I have a pretty well developed understand of perceived effort and can guess pretty accurately where my heart rate is by my breathing so hopefully this will stand me in good stead.

Another thing that makes bike riding a bit more complicated than running is the addition of a machine into the equation. I don't really understand how gears work and never know which ring to be in on the front or which cog to use on the back. That is the beauty of the internal hubs that I use on my other bikes, when it gets to easy you press the button that puts the gears up and when it gets hard you press the button that makes the gears go down. The bonus is that my riding partner is not only a vastly experienced cyclist, but is also very generous human being and readily imparts his knowledge garnered through a thorough analysis of activities in which he participates. The only way that I am going to learn is by challenging myself and riding with stronger riders than myself. Not been out of my comfort zone for a while, cannot wait!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.