TJGray

By TJGray

Welders glass

First of all i would like to say how amazed I am at the community here. As when yesterday when I posted my first blip I received so many nice comments. I didn't know that there was a photo sharing site with such great people

As some of you may know a good 10 stop nd filter costs around £100 but you can make your own nd filter for about £1. All you need is welders glass. Of course it isn't a high quality optical instrument like the lee big stopper and it has a green colour cast but some of the photos produced using the welding glass technique are truly amazing. So I decided to get some welding glass and try it out myself. But I am yet to use it for anything apart from a quick test shot on my digital camera which only has a shutter that can stay open for 8 seconds.

I am currently waiting for some Fuji neopan to arrive as it only is meant to have recipriocity failure at 120 seconds which is good as I don't want to have to start messing around with developing times.

And just to let you know shade 8 welders glass is about a 10 stop filter and I got mine from eBay for £1.20

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.