Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Horsey

I hadn't actually planned to photograph The Kelpies at night.

Plan A was to park at the Helix Park and walk to Lock 1, where the Forth and Clyde Canal joins the River Carron, and do a circular walk from there that was part Canal and part woodland. However, I left it a bit late to leave the house and then the (lower, and free) car park at the Helix Park was heaving with traffic, vehicular and human, meaning I had to park at the nearby football stadium, i.e. once I had navigated the mayhem at the Helix.

So it was already nearly 3.30pm by the time I set out on my walk and practically dusk by the time I had reached the Carron Sea Lock. As I made my way back towards the Kelpies from there, the sky was darkening, the temperature was dropping (it hadn't been terribly warm to begin with) and the lights on our local horsey sculptures were beginning to contrast noticeably with the surroundings.

Plan B came into action: take some photos of said horses and then return to the car while I still had fingers. The walk can wait another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.