But I saved the camera!

Wednesday 5th January 2022

I have stayed in again today but I did work most of the day with my alternative hat on and my accounts are now reconciled to the end of the year. Still some more work to do on them but a good job done. 

I didn't want to do another indoor emergency blip tonight, so I blame Tigg, who posted a wonderful star trail last night. :-)

I looked out and it was a very clear sky with loads of stars. I didn't have time to do a very long star trail but I did think I would give it a go for a short burst. I went out with my phone to assess what was around and I took a few moments to stare in wonder at all the stars. I then went back in to get my camera and set it up on the tripod. I stepped out of the front door ...

... and I'm not quite sure what happened next but I felt myself falling and saw my expensive camera heading to the ground. I tried to regain my balance but got caught in the tripod legs and started to fall in another direction. My only thought was "save the camera!" Everything went into slow motion. My knees hit first but then with a bit of a twist I managed to hit the ground on my side, with the camera and tripod held above me. The camera was saved and I lowered it safely to the ground. I was somewhat shaken up and I just had to sit there in a heap for a good few minutes. I'll have a few bruises tomorrow and I've got a hole in the knee of my trousers ... but the camera didn't get a single knock, it is safe and I am cheaper to repair! 

Once I recovered myself I got up to continue with my astrophotography. I pointed the camera upwards but then noticed something wasn't quite right ... the sky was no longer clear, the clouds had come from nowhere! 

So instead, I give you this cloudy night scene! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.