Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

"I Paint My Dreams"

I've just been to a fantastic and illuminating exhibition in Lausanne, called "Van Gogh Alive". What an experience. If you're a Van Gogh fan, as I am, please try and see this if it comes near you.

The way it's presented is difficult to explain, so I'm including two links for you to see for yourself. The first one is here in Lausanne:
https://www.vangoghlausanne.ch/
The second one, a long YouTube clip is from the Atelier des Lumières in Paris:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BbgrHnbgoDU

The whole showing here in Lausanne lasts for 45 minutes and is accompanied by beautiful and appropriate classical music.  I took all these photos from the constantly changing scenes.

It's tragic that Van Gogh remained virtually unknown until after his death. He struggled with mental illness, probably due to an excess of the strong alcohol, Absinthe, and a lack of food.  He died at the too young age of 37 and he painted more than 2.100 works.

If you're interested, here is a link to Van Gogh's biography:
https://www.biography.com/artist/vincent-van-gogh


Some of Vincent's quotations were projected onto the walls and my favourite one is: "I dream my paintings and then I paint my dreams."

Thank you, Vincent Van Gogh, for your vision and for your art!

Extra: On January 6th (which is the Epiphany), it's traditional to eat a Galette des Rois. They come in different forms, but my favourite is the one with flaky pastry and a ground almond filling. There is always a tiny 'king' statue somewhere in the middle and the person who gets it wears the paper crown and is king for the day!)

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.