Hyperion

By Hyperion

Water Holes and Carpet Snakes

Today I visited the Songlines exhibition at The Box in Plymouth. It features a wide selection of Aboriginal Art and tells the story of the Seven Sisters. It is an Aboriginal-led exhibition that takes "visitors on a journey along the epic Seven Sisters Dreaming tracks, through art, Indigenous voices and innovative multimedia and other immersive displays". One part of the exhibition is housed in a large outside building referred to as the tent. Here you lie down and watch the moving images displayed on the domed roof. Plymouth has been fortunate to host this exhibition which has not previously been seen outside Australia. It next moves on to France, Germany and the United States. The box seems to be establishing a reputation for telling the story of indiginous people, having also staged an exhibition showing the art and culture of the Wampanoag people of North America, as part of the Mayflower 400 commemorations. After my visit today I wanted to produce something original that did not replicate the aborioginal art in the exhibition. I used here three things that came easily to hand - a wickerwork draw, an section of an embroidered Indian-style bag and a photograph of the surface of a coffee from a coffee machine! In a way it is part of my songline from the visit to the exhibition. The circles are indicative of those in Aboriginal art that are used to illustrate water holes or holes made in the sand with a stick. The long diagonal lines reminded me of carpet snakes that feature in some of the stories. I think I will probably return for another visit as there is so much to take in. In the meantime my blips will probably be more mundane  for a while, and less colourful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.