Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Housing crisis

This morning before work I realised that even if I don't have a place to move into, I absolutely must move out of this flat, so I paid a deposit to the removals people so that they will deliver to me boxes to pack everything into. I told them that I hadn't yet secured a new home, and we might need to put it all into storage, but either way it needs to be packed up.
Good! Another ball rolling.
At 9:15 my body-double phoned me from her first viewing. It's tiny (which I knew) but it's in a brilliant location, the windows are large and morning sun was streaming in and flooding the place. She was very positive about it so I asked her to accept it on my behalf. Twenty five minutes later the agent called me to tell me that she had called the landlord and he had accepted my proposed tenancy.
So I called my body-double and told her she didn't need to go ahead with the other two viewings unless she really wanted to, and did she want me to make the calls to cancel them. No, she was fine to cancel them herself and was able to tell me that this morning's agent was just so much warmer and nicer to deal with. Apparently the other one was quite stand-offish.
No shortage of hoops to jump through to secure the deal of course. First I must pay one week's rent as a holding deposit and as soon as that happens the vetting procedure can begin. Stupidly I hadn't taken all my online banking paraphernalia in to work with me so that couldn't begin until I returned home, but as soon as I was back at home I sent the money and within moments the private rental detectives were on to me with security checks.
Get this!
Full name, any previous names, date of birth, and passport number
Current address, name and contact details of landlord and utility bill
Employer name, contact details, salary details, employment terms, my role and contact's role.
Six months of payslips and six months of bank statements. NI number.

If I hadn't understood before, it's terrifyingly easy to understand now how so many people slip through the net and find themselves sleeping in doorways.

So yes, it's in the bag, I'm just waiting for the bag to clear airport security. I can almost relax, and I've told the removals people we are transporting my stuff to a home and not a lock-up-box.
And I'm happy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.