Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Yesterday's flat went to someone else even though I had put in a bid above the asking rent. Tomorrow my flat-viewing body-double has set up another three viewings with each flat asking a higher rent than the one before, but at least they are acceptable accommodation in decent locations so perhaps I just need to accept that you get what you pay for and that I've had quite enough of slumming it. I doubt that any of the flats to be viewed have the additional ground floor neighbour with incontinent dog that urinates on the hall carpet, so that in itself is probably worth an extra few bob.
And I have notified the council and the water utility that they can let me have a couple of months worth of refund.
The Teams meeting with my new employer's HR people was short and to the point – smile at webcam, hold passport up beside face, yes, same person. So glad I made the effort to resemble that photo when I got up this morning.
I'm just really hoping I won't have to move my stuff into temporary storage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.