Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

While I was at my mum's I was progressing my embroidery, and I realised I could add a bit more to the design which might improve it, so here top left is the previous design of a corner detail and bottom right is the new improved extra detail. There are still a great many stitches to go before I reach this part.

Meanwhile, it's all frantic behind the scenes. I have had a friend view a flat on my behalf because the landlord won't let without a viewing, even though a viewing by a third party is acceptable. Over Xmas the flat I was in line for has had its rent reduced and so there is now a clamour of others wishing to secure a tenancy there. Yes I was first in line, but that does not necessarily put me in pole position. Next I will need to show proof of employment and salary.
At the same time, the HR people at my new employment want to schedule a Teams meeting with me to convince themselves that I am the same person who appeared in the passport sent to them for Right-to-Work purposes.
Therefore I have needed to explain to both parties the urgency to get all the is dotted and ts crossed.
Lovely boss understands and is happy for me to have a Teams meeting with my new employer during office hours from my office if necessary, though he has told me that he is awfully tempted to tell them he won't give me up without a fight. It's all incredibly stressful because I am now committed to moving out of Chatham on 20th January whether or not I have secured a place to move into.
Thank Heaven there is a lovely little cat downstairs to cuddle in times of unbelievable stress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.