Onward Ever, Backwards Never

Strava Day 221/75 Hard Phase 2 Day 9. Three liters, outdoor workout and reading done. Hit hard by today's pages. Sharing a direct quote from Epictetus' feature: "When you have accustomed your body to a frugal regime, don't put on airs about it, and if you only drink water, don't broadcast the fact all the time. And if you ever want to go in for endurance training, do it for yourself and not for the world to see." This made me pause and ask myself what am doing this for. Accountability, integrity and longevity are my justifications.
***
Featured photo was from this morning's walk/run. Discovered a shortcut/a different route and quite pleased with how much faster I was able to get to a similar spot without passing by the stray dogs. Definitely looking forward to improving my pace and getting to a beach view by 5:55.
***
T said the most adorable thing yesterday: If I cried because of the death of a little insect, just imagine what the death of a dog would do to a soft tofu like me?
***
We don't often get to have meals together, even breakfast, but when we do, we now practice expressing the things we are grateful for. T's was: Am grateful because it's a sunny day, am grateful my Queen Ant now has two workers and am grateful because my breakfast today is short (he often treats having to sit down for a meal like an arduous job as he can't wait to play, watch videos or check on his ants).
***
Today am grateful for the mental clarity and calm disposition I have. Currently, our neighbors are playing loud videoke music and someone's singing off key but am not bothered, even a little bit. They are celebrating and am happy they get to do that. Life is too short to not be in the moment.
***
Hope the image here or the words brought something good to you today. Have a good one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.