Red Beech …

….. or nothofagus fusca. This magnificent tree was sunlit on the way back down from the Bush Creek Saddle today. I took it on the panorama setting on my phone which gives you an idea of its height.

A ‘ little stroll’ up Bush Creek led to a 3.5 hour walk from Arrowtown up to the foot of Bush Creek Saddle and back. It’s both a bike & walking trail and, the same as yesterday, walkers need to keep a sharp eye out for bikers. The walk today is the bottom part of yesterday’s walk from Coronet Peak Rd.
It was steep in parts, with the constant sound of Bush Creek tumbling down from the mountains. A long section through a valley in the middle had me wondering if we’d ever get in sight of the saddle. I’ll go back one day, and get that view up to Coronet Peak. I think today’s effort was 15kms. Missy was in her element and hardly stopped adventuring & investigating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.