SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

I dunno much about art...

We (bravely? foolishly?) ventured into the city this evening - we had booked to see a play a few months ago and we're sick of putting things off.  About 40% of the theatre patrons did not show.  I was expecting some no shows but not that many.  Dinner beforehand in the King Street Wharf area - again, not a lot of people.  We wore masks pretty much the whole time except when actually eating, so here's hoping we've survived another day.

This sculpture caught my eye after eating.  It's about 50cm square at the base - there might be more than one of them.  I was tempted to lie on the ground to get a better shot but I had my "Sunday best" on (not quite) and was in a hurry and I look a bit ungainly getting up from a concrete path these days I'm afraid so decided not to embarrass myself.

The extra ("Buckingham Palace") is a fairly typical inner-city Sydney terrace house (in Surry Hills).  These used to be workers' cottages but now command obscenely high prices.  I checked the price for this 91 sq. metre renovated two bedroom, one bathroom palace (polished wooden floors) using the "go to" website we use here.  Last sold in 1994, so a tad unreliable (but normally not far off), but estimated at $1.6m-$1.8m.  The "National Minimum Wage" is about $780 per week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.