SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Blue Fish Point (in the distance)

Shot taken from a rock ledge near the end of Phyllis Street.  There are quite a few of overhanging rock ledges like the one in the mid-foreground, along this stretch of coast.  (I was standing on one when I took this!)

The tower that is just visible inland from the point is a vent for the North Head Wastewater Treatment Plant.

The beaches along this stretch of coast are much safer now than they were in the 70s, 80s, 90s due to improvements in treatment, extensive new tunnels, better separation of storm water (rain) from sewage, as well as more treatment plants.  The system used to be heavily overloaded meaning that it just flowed straight out without treatment when it rained (and it rains more here in Sydney than people think).

Sometimes I forget why I pay taxes - and then I see where some of them go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.