pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Hard Boiled

I made us a fish pie for dinner. It was my first attempt at cooking such a thing as I’ve not really cooked seafood before and know that the consequences of getting it wrong can be disastrous.

However, cook it I did and it was delicious and quickly devoured by me and the children. No disastrous consequences to report at the time of writing.

In the course of making it, I decided to add a couple of hard boiled eggs into the mix and was immediately struck by the shocking realisation that having been on the planet for nigh on 44 years, I had never boiled an egg. 

Oh, I’ve eaten them. I’ve fried them, scrambled them and heard tell of others doing it, but to date, I have NEVER boiled an egg myself. I’ll admit, I was slightly embarrassed googling “how to hard boil an egg”, but Delia took pity on me and following her instructions I was able to boil three of the things just how I wanted them with The Youngest taking great delight in helping me pick the shell off.

Made a fish pie and boiled three eggs.

It’s been a big day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.