It's always worth it. Even if it's only half an hour! 

Had one of those days. I didn't get to the yard early enough today to finish all my jobs so the stable was left till later. I had to get to the hospital to pick up my chemo tablets. I had to wait an hour and a half for them to be delivered from the pharmacy. All the nurses needed to do was a weight check and get me to sign a form. Very frustrating. 

I had a couple of dogs to walk but was still hopeful that I could manage a ride before it got too dark. Was just about to start my walk when K rang to say she didn't have the key for one of the dogs on her lunchtime walk. Frustrating as have repeatedly asked her to check all her keys in the morning so we have time to sort it if any are missing but for the second time this week she has rung me from the dogs doorstep. So I had to drive to Quorn to meet her, then go back and walk the dogs. 

By which time there wasn't much time left to ride. I thought about not bothering, but after having a month of not being able to, I decided to make the most of every opportunity. So I got Lime in and we had a mini hack. Nearly spoiled by some stupid cow who just opened her boot and let her bloody great weinmerana run 100m ahead out of her sight down the bridle path to chase me. Lime is pretty good round dogs but it came at such speed, growling and snapping at his back legs that we shot forwards and I nearly came off. No sight of owner and it continued to run at us so I turned lime round and rode at it growling. It ran back and forth several times at us before the owner came wandering over and tried to get it back on the lead. I stood waiting patiently for her to get it on the lead, expectantly waiting for an apology. Nope nothing! I would be absolutely mortified if my dog had done that. I told her it was a good job I hadn't fallen off. Wish I'd said more now as people like that REALLY bug me and had it been the kids out with Jack they'd have been on the floor and he'd have been half way to the woods. It's a busy bridleway so there is a massive chance it's not going to be clear. And aside from horses there could be other dog walkers with nervous dogs who don't appreciate a massive dog like that come running over whether it's friendly or not. Her dog had one of those waterproof outfits on that cover every inch of their body including the legs. And I thought after yeah you are the kind of person who cares more about a bit of mud in your house or car than you do for the safety of other people!! 

Having said all that it was still good to be out in what little daylight we had left after all the delays. Georgia had offered to ride Jack again after the other night's aborted schooling session. He was much happier tonight- no bucks and happy to move forward off her leg so I'm happy to keep the kids lesson booked for tomorrow. Last thing we need for their confidence right now is another fall. 

Then after all this I still had to muck out the stable and it started snowing. I was freezing by the time i finished but got home and the fire was lit. There was tea and chocolate and cuddles from happy kids, curry for dinner (mild!) and Friday film night (Enola Holmes). So good end to a frustrating day! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.