The best laid plans of.....

Well it was supposed to be an easy day at work. Going south I noticed the rising water level had reached the shoulder of the highway but I was hoping  it would just stop there. Nope, it didn't. By the time I reached my third customer I had heard the highway was closed. Now it was time to plan on a place to stay a few hours or maybe a few days. After my final delivery I headed to a safe place to park and wait it out. Over a dozen years ago that would be nearly 3 days before the road reopened. Well early in the afternoon they reopened the road - BUT I had run out of hours by this time so I had to sleep in the truck that night.

Several ramps are still closed, the water is still on the shoulder of the highway, buildings are flooded, zillions of roads flooded but I made it safely home in the wee hours of the morning. The company I work for still has 2 drivers stuck in Ellensburg since Thursday as the pass isn't supposed to open to Sunday.. Really crazy weather..

Going to enjoy a quiet warm weekend at home..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.