Devil's Bridge from the south

I was working at home today and, despite the fact I had plenty of food in, I took a circuitous route 'round to Booths at lunchtime, just so I'd have some exercise. 

Part of my route was along by the river. It was another lovely day and Devil's Bridge was looking particularly splendid. It's featured on my Blips over the years but I can't remember posting from the southern side, which was what was getting the sun, this afternoon, so I ventured down the muddy path and onto the rocks to get down beneath it. 

A little local story: in the early 1930s* when the bridge was still open to traffic, a lorry driver crashed into the side of the bridge, leaving his cab hanging over the water. It was a foggy night, apparently, but if you look at the pictures here, I'm still not quite sure how he managed it. He was fine, incidentally, although the story runs that he nearly fainted when he came back and saw it in the daylight.

*The bridge was actually closed to traffic in 1932 but the photos of the crashed lorry are dated 1934. Maybe it was so foggy, the driver went over the wrong bridge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.