Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

A light in the darkness

Miserable bloody day. However -

We went out in the dark and spontaneously grabbed a drink in one of our favourite local watering holes. No one behind the bar at first. One of the regulars said "Adam’s just popped out. Won’t be long." Hilarious. We chatted about music with a very friendly Scotsman who told me I looked ten years younger than I am (BFF!) and then Adam came in with a discounted quinoa salad and said that Tesco was the best thing that had happened to Woking in years. The regulars all grinned and wished him happy new year then he started opening bottles of wine, pouring negroni and dancing behind the bar. Not sure what he was on but it seemed to lift everyone’s spirits. What a hoot. We only stopped for one but I suspect there was a legendary Saturday night in the making.

Cooked meatballs and watched Don’t Look Up. Bang on. The world ain’t gonna end because of a comet, but we’re all gonna die because mankind is basically driving when pissed at high speed up an evolutionary cul-de-sac whilst looking at text messages on a mobile phone.

I think I need another negroni.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.