Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Amaryllis

Somehow I always think of the song Amarillo when I type that and have to check which word predictive text has selected, right one this time.
This is a strangely small amaryllis, but very pretty, the white is toned with lemony green and the tops of the petals a reddy brown. They are all like that so I'm convinced it's a deliberate colouring rather than a fault. Another bud is on the way so I'll see if that is the same, both in size and colouring.
This was the only picture I took today. I did get out briefly at lunchtime to send something back to Amazon, but that was it. I'd bought a couple of what looked like beautiful iridescent glass tree baubles, with a star and an angel on them. When they arrived they were beautifully made hand blown glass, but completely clear with the shape embossed on them so it was hard to make out the design. They were very nice but not what I wanted or expected so they have gone back. It's unusual for me to be disappointed by Alessi items, but this time I was.
I've had a strangely tired day. Did a bit of tidying this afternoon and a very satisfactory jacket zip repair for my son in law. The slider had come off and was damaged so I spent several hours researching getting a replacement - I was pleased to find you could actually replace just the slider as the jacket is very heavy and would have been a tough replacement zip job. In the end though I cannibalised a handbag for the slider. It fitted perfectly, job done for no cost and no damage to the jacket. I even stripped back the rest of the bag for a spare strap and another complete zip. Very satisfying as I said.
We watched another episode of Phileas Fogg this evening, episode 6, were both enjoying the series. We followed that with the Christmas episode of Upstart Crow. What a cast including Paula Wilcox, who I still link with Richard Beckinsale in Man About the House and Emma Thompson too. A couple of laugh out loud moments!

Keep safe and well folks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.