Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

That's it folks!

The only picture I took today! I took it in response to Nadinepierce's FB post of the deep snow around her house! Nadine lives 14 miles or 30 minutes away according to Google maps and our weather differences are extraordinary at times. I can only assume the Pentland Hills which lie between her home and Edinburgh are responsible. It may not have snowed here, but it has been bitterly cold.
Other than that, I had a busy morning and a quieter afternoon. I woke up a message from my sister in law which sent me to the post office to send a package north. I then shot over to the Gyle to pick up my glasses which had had new lenses fitted, then it was down to Waitrose to pick up a delivery from John Lewis. So much excitement in my day!
This afternoon Katy and the girls came by, they had been to Waterstones and received a replacement bee for Eilidh much to her delight. Good customer service. I hope that this one lasts a bit longer. Isobel had spent her book tokens there, a beautiful hardback book of the story of the Magic Flute which she chose. The book token came from a friend whose husband was an opera singer and who, herself, worked for Scottish Opera so an unconsciously appropriate choice. Strangely enough, we had a video of the Magic Flute which Kathryn loved as a child. I'll need to see if we still have it, we do still have the means to play it! She also bought a copy of a hardback about the Nutcracker, although her mum admitted that was at her instigation. Interesting library for a 5 year old!
Isobel was also very excited about the fact that she was going to get two outfits for her dancing class.... I had forgotten about the need for particular leotards, shoes etc for different types of dance. It's not a cheap hobby.
We watched another episode of Around the World this evening, I'm not sure that Jules Verne would recognise all of it, but I am enjoying it and finding David Tennant's Fogg good to watch. It was interesting reading his comments in the Radio Times about the difficulties of filming such a programme during the Pandemic.
We finished off the evening with the final of Christmas University Challenge. Very satisfying.
Keep safe folks, they say that Omicron may be on the way down. That would be good, hopefully there is not another variant on its tail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.