Tufted Duck #7

Great to have a break in the wet weather so we could go out again. We even had a few short spells of sunshine too. 
We've been avoiding Spike Island the past few weeks as there has been a bout of avian flu there killing many of the swans that have made it their home. They used to have around 90 I think and we counted around 40 today. I haven't see any posts over the past week stating that any more swans/geese had died, so hopefully the worst of it is over. There were lots of people there today. I'd forgotten it was Sunday when I suggested it for our walk, but we were able to keep away from people so felt quite safe. 
We clocked up 35 different species during our walk up to the Future Flower and back, including A goldcrest that wouldn't come out of the undergrowth for its picture to be taken and some distant meadow pipits under the bridge, both of which were added to this years list. 
Today's blip is of a lone tufted duck on the canal who sat nicely in the sunshine giving a nice reflection. I don't know why it was all alone as there were plenty more tufties up on the canal by the lock. Still no sign of the kingfisher who has been seen by a few people recently. The tide was out so I'm not surprised. I need to pay more attention to the tides next time we go. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.