Goldcrest #8

Lockdown 3.0.  Day #5

It’s been a cold and foggy morning so I made myself busy and cooked a casserole, some soda bread, made some hummus and prepared the ingredients for this evenings seafood risotto. It felt quite productive to get it all out of the way. I would have made some tomato soup, but my husband had forgotten to get the tomatoes! That can wait until next week. 

After lunch the sun came out and I sat down to watch the birds in the garden for an hour and was thrilled to see this wee little visitor to the garden again. I last saw a Goldcrest between Christmas and New Year but was too slow to get a picture. I made some fat balls on Thursday and after two days of them being largely ignored by the birds, today was the day that they came onto the menu. Maybe they just had to get used to the new feeder in a new position? 
The blackbirds have been really enjoying them, the robins have been somewhat interested and then this goldcrest rocked up to take a sample. I’ve never scrambled so quickly for my camera and thankfully it stayed for a few seconds so I could get a shot. At least you can tell it’s a goldcrest, our smallest bird.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.