I should have stayed at home... Woodpecker #2

I popped over to Risley Moss this morning for a chilly hour in the hide, but I might as well have stayed at home as I could see almost all of the same birds. 
Apart from a nuthatch, which does not visit, all of the other birds I saw were in my garden this afternoon as well as FOUR jays. We quite often see the Jays and last year I have seen up to three, but never four at the same time. They were waiting their turn patiently as the pigeons hogged the peanuts on the bird table, but eventually they manage to get a beakful each. And no sooner had they left than this female great spotted woodpecker arrived, then a small flock of long tailed tits. Not great light at all, but lovely to sit and watch them all getting on nicely and having a good feed. 

Did a bit of food shopping, cooking and sorting out of my wardrobe so feel as if I've not wasted the day. That's my aim at the moment - to feel as though I have achieved at least something! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.