Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Goldeneye

Went for a longer walk this afternoon - along the Banknock Railway Path and then down onto the Canal, which I followed as far as Underwood Lock (about two miles), then back up the farm road and home. Thankfully it stayed dry and, although fairly cold, I was well wrapped up.

There seems to be an ever-changing line-up of birds on the Canal these days. Last week it was cormorants and goosanders supplementing the usual mallards and mute swans; today there were a couple of goldeneyes who were visible one minute and submerged the next, only to reappear several metres away from where they had dived.

Not the best of photos as the light was fading and I only had my handy pocket camera, but glad to get a shot of one of the goldeneyes nonetheless. I had an excuse today, but I really must get out earlier and try to get some photos before it starts to get dark!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.