1921

It’s a difficult time for my parents, and this morning the paramedics were there again. Another sibling discussion, but there is only so much we can do. More discussion tomorrow.

Which got me looking at the 1921 census - all the completed census forms are now, of this week, in the public domain.

This form (I’ve omitted names) lists my dad’s parents and his elder brother. It would be another five years until he was born. By that time his mother would have been 45 years old. I guess he was a “surprise”. I never met his parents, my grandparents.

That got me looking for mum, who on the census date was over a year old at the time of the census and in Huddersfield. It would take a world war to take my mum south where she would meet my dad. We are all in a sense “surprises”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.