YORKSHIREBRED

By Yorkshirebred

VintageBottle

Backblipped for Friday.  Very battered and scratched, but this old Oxo bottle comes from around 1900, so I guess we would all look rather worn out by that age!  One of two old bottles found wrapped up when I sorted the garage.  I have another strange one to blip later.  Several old bottles in the garden shed too, but I need to sort out the items stored in there before I can get to them - and fight my way past the spiders! OXO history:- The original product was a viscous liquid, containing only meat extract and 4% salt. In 1899, the company introduced the trademark Oxo; the origin of the name is unknown, but presumably comes from the word "Ox".  Since the cost of liquid Oxo remained beyond the reach of many families, the company launched a research project to develop a solid version that could be sold in cubes for a penny. After much research, Oxo produced their first cubes in 1910  increasing Oxo's popularity. During World War I, 100 million Oxo cubes were provided to the British armed forces, all of them individually hand wrapped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.