Life Goes On

Mid-morning and the work party are already out on the water and in the yard. Not for me today. Though I’m feeling a whole lot better. The SK continues to test negative so will hopefully be able to run errands and serve up treats. 
I was a bit flippant yesterday about the possibilities of me departing the scene which caused the SK to raise an eyebrow at my questionable humour. My blip, said I, which is always one way of closing down that conversation. 
But right then we received an email from poor D down in Lauder. We knew things were looking grim for L as we’ve kept in regular touch but over Christmas it’s got to the palliative care state and he’s been told he has a few weeks at most. Desperately sad stuff. We’d only met them a couple of years ago by chance at the local bus stop (they have an apartment overlooking the harbour) and hit it off straight away. So we went out for eats, went round to their’s, even called in at Lauder, and they’ve always been great company. They were both semi-retired, but he was such an interesting guy - a Liverpudlian, he worked in industry before becoming head of the design school at the ECA and had a huge hinterland. And equally wonderful, he loved talking about football. Oh Lordy, sad to write that in the past tense.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.