Fact or Fiction

I woke about 5.30am and it seemed as if I’d only just fallen asleep again when the alarm went off. Ideally I’d have stayed in bed but I wanted to go to the monthly U3A open meeting…I compromised by driving part way instead of walking and enjoyed an extra half hour in bed.

It was an enjoyable meeting with a speaker…a local retired teacher talking about his visits to Russia from the mid 60s to 1990s. The natives were friendly too so now I’ve to choose some groups to join.

I’d parked south of the river at Tweedmouth and walked over the old bridge to Berwick and remembered the family history I’d found not that long ago regarding the death of one of my 4 x great grandfathers as reported in the local newspaper of the time. He’d probably frequented one of the local hostelries before making his way (probably through one of the many vennels like this one) back to the bridge to head home again on the other side of the river. It appears his narrow escape from drowning wasn’t enough though and he died within days.

Thanks to ApolloFly for hosting Mono Monday this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.