Rare and wonderful

What's rare was thew fact that I was awake before 6.00 am and actually went to the bother of throwing on a few clothes and blipping the dawn. What's wonderful was the dawn itself.

Rather than stay up and about and knuckle down immediately to cleaning and tidying in readiness for this evening's guests, I must admit head and pillow became reacquainted for a bit first, so it was mid morning before I set to. It's only a little house, so how come I was still not fully prepared when the guests arrived half an hour early and had to be sent away again while the last tidying was attended to. It was food preparation, of course, which I hadn't fully allowed for, and it was because of that that I was only just back from the off licence when the lads got here.

It was all worth it, though. I'd warned that we wouldn't be choosing music as we normally do on these occasions (by pulling out CDs on the shelves so the I'd be interested-in-hearing-a-bit of-that ones stick out from the rest. This time it was all to done using iTunes's virtual shelf. That worked fine until stuff not originally spotted came to mind and the dreaded 'do you have such and such' questions began. So I occasionally had to run upstairs and bring down actual CDs to add to the mix.

Supper went well too -- asparagus with butter lemon sauce, wild mushroom risotto served with herb sausages, 'Eton Mess' (a cheat, from the T-place). Before we knew it, tomorrow had arrived. Tom and David left at 1.30 am, full of the delights of May (how could it possible be May already?!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.