Simple Arabic for teachers

I've got a little book in which I record any Arabic I learn (usually by accident, but sometimes by asking) in class. Today I learnt the words for 'thief' and 'purse' which were important for the reading exercise we worked on today.

It's unlikely these particular words will come in useful in the classroom but you never know. Here are some phrases that have proved useful so far:

Intee-ameera?
Are you a princess?
When a female student looks at you with utter contempt as if to say "you're not providing enough entertainment for my liking".

Teh-lam!
In your dreams!
When the students complain that they are tired and would like to leave the class early.

Treed-mee-dal-eeya?
Would you like a medal?
Most students have a really annoying habit of announcing "Teacher! Finish!" after answering a set of questions under the mistaken assumption that the quicker they do it, the cleverer they are.

Laow-sa-maht! La-tis-tach-dim-mobile-fee-suf! Ha-the-ma-ih-sloop?!
Oi, excuse me! Don't use your mobile phone in class! Where are your manners?!
It's rare that mobile phones will remain untouched during a lesson but as long as they can keep it hidden and do it without me noticing, I don't mind. It takes quite a lot to push me to anger in a classroom, but a ringing phone will do it every time.

Ana-a-rajul-al-ankaboot!
I am Spider-Man!
Omani logic dictates that anyone who can deliver the line 'I am Spider-Man' in fluent Arabic, must also be able to understand Arabic. It's a little strange, granted, but it's perfect for convincing them you can indeed understand everything they say when they're quite obviously slagging you off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.