Lake Again

Another Lateral Flow Test faintly positive.
Another Trip to Machynlleth for a PCR
Another view of the lake at Talyllyn

I awoke feeling much better after a good night's sleep.   As Jamie had a GP appointment, I took Meg for a walk - ball chasing included - this morning and while we were out the promised brighter weather arrived (extra pic.)    Leaving a bit more than the required thirty minutes after eating, I did a lateral flow test in advance of Jamie's appointment.   Not that I think I have Covid, just a precaution to be sure that this cold, like the last one, is just a cold.   Unfortunately, like the last LFT, this one also returned a faint positive which kind of threw a spanner in the works.

Suddenly, at 3pm, everything happened at once.   As I messaged Jamie, while looking at online PCR bookings,  the phone rang, a long awaited call about a wrongly delivered valuable package of Ruth's.    Somehow I  managed to complete that conversation, (successfully we hope,) accept Jamie's offer to go it alone on his bike and book for the last session at Mach,  330-4pm - all in time to leave at 320pm!    And then after posting Ruth's PCR test in Tywyn, I spotted the 'ROAD CLOSED' sign ... the quickest route to Mach which usually takes 25 minutes, not available.  Aaagh!!   

The diversion, quite a few miles further around the lake, over the mountains and down through Corris seemed unlikely to get me there in time but ..... never say die!   I don't think I've ever driven up the valley so fast.   Road works around Corris including three way control threatened my sanity as did catching up with a school bus but I arrived at 4pm almost on the dot, finding the team packing up.   Human kindness still very much alive, they made time for the late-comer and my test went into the box with the rest.   Phew!   I drove home more sedately, stopping to catch this view of the lake, looking east with the light from the western sky somehow caught in the east too.

Another day tomorrow.
Another negative PCR result?

Edit: Turns out the road closure was a night closure for nine nights but none of the signs have that information included!  Grrr!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.