Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Starting off again

We're back to routine, are we not? Well maybe not quite - I had a bizarre waking dream this morning, between waking at 7 and actually moving some time later, involving the plumbers waiting downstairs to do some unspecified thing in the en-suite shower room ...I had to ask Himself to make sure it wasn't for real. Losing it for sure.

Thereafter, however, I became aware that the usual routines were establishing themselves. I washed the bedclothes from yesterday and hung them out - they sort of dried - and managed to do some Italian in the morning. After coffee we went for a walk at Toward, with an extension along the Ardyne for me. That's where the photo comes from; it's a view I love, one which strikes me as incredibly bucolic and not entirely typical of our area, where there is also a lot of forest and unproductive hillside. The interesting thing is that I took it standing with my back to the other view, another one you've seen before, of the beach and the Firth and Bute and the Arran hills. And I closed my exercise ring on the watch before I was back at the car ...

After that came a lengthy phone call to my bank, who seem to me to be over-zealous in promoting online banking for all. Go Paper-Free! they exhort - and then a red note comes on your screen if you try to go on without changing your preferences: You've not changed anything. Go back ... I think it's important for people to keep paper records of some sort when they get older - you never know quite how long you're going to retain sufficient marbles to deal with passwords and so on.

We had choir tonight, which meant an early dinner and a rest (I watched Murder on the Orient Express, largely for the train because I've been on one) . We had three people missing, which is quite a hit in a choir of eight, but we worked hard and had a good laugh. And we're delighted that the church who own the hall have replaced their (sound-destroying, black, heavy) curtains with blinds which make the acoustics better than even the bare windows did. 

And I'm personally delighted that #2 son's text message reacting to the Great Leader's booze party was read out on Drivetime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.