Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Limited

Today was another washout. I'm working on being philosophical about it, especially after seeing blips from Edinburgh and California and realising we're not alone, though this is our typical sort of winter weather. But I'm sorry about the terrible photo - a shot through the rain-streaked back bedroom window of the lights on the far side of our back lane, this haven for birds and children made by a straight road on one side and the crescent on the other. When I looked it was just lights in the wet blackness, but the phone camera went into long exposure mode and showed us a bit more.

My day began with a call to the surgery to arrange for a phone consultation, which came just as I was finishing breakfast. Having resolved that I could just cancel the ultrasound appointment that was only four months after it had been requested so that I'd actually forgotten what it was for (I recovered spontaneously), I had a few questions about numb feet (the soles of my feet get pins and needles whenever I stop standing on them) and skin lesions, and was really looking for permission to stop taking some meds to see if it helped, but instead was invited to turn up a couple of hours later. This I did, and felt I was listened to, given a path of action, and told to make an appointment for a minor operation - and even had time for a brief chat about the execrable music being played in the waiting room.  We're very fortunate in our surgery (apart from the music).

Leaving the surgery, I took the long way home to buy some yeast, once again getting soaked and feeling reluctant to do so again. And that's what prevailed: I wasted a lot of time; I made some pizza dough; I did some Italian; I read the Sunday paper; I did my physio; I became increasingly aware that that was another day that I'll never see again. What a waste.

On the pleasing side, I found out that a friend made through church and mostly online is going to be staying quite near us on our upcoming holiday, about which more when it comes along. On the other hand, I think it may well be going to rain every day until then. 

I've just locked up and been startled by the helicopter wheeling low over our house on its trajectory from the playing fields near the hospital before heading out over the Firth, presumably bearing some soul in need of serious medical attention. Our NHS needs serious attention too, but here, we're amazingly well served. 

And the glass rose slightly when I tapped it ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.