Lunch

I met an amazing friend for lunch today, someone I haven't seen for around three years since she smuggled herself out of Venezuela to escape the issues in the country and a relationship that had gone sour.  We used to go climbing together about 10 -12 years ago and then she took early(ish) retirement and moved out there to be with him and his extended family. It was a completely different world; he had a  single room dwelling with no running water or mains power when she moved in, although  he did later build them a house.

She now lives on a houseboat in Richmond upon Thames and we've been trying to get together since she came back permanently but have never managed until now. It was lovely to see her.

It's WI tonight, frustratingly via Zoom. I don't like Zoom meetings, possibly because I spend all day on calls but mainly as there is little interaction other than from a small number of the usual suspects and I don't think anyone gets much out of it.  I certainly don't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.