Wide on Wednesday: Black and White

I grabbed this shot on my phone on my morning walk today, as I thought it might convert quite well to suit Bobsblips's Widwed challenge this week of "Black and White".

It's on a footpath which goes under a bridge on the Metro line, and being low down it floods whenever there's been a period of heavy rain. Helpful folk usually place some makeshift "stepping stones" to allow you to walk through with dry(ish) feet but this is the most interesting assortment of "steps" I've ever seen, consisting of the usual planks of wood but supplemented by 3 old car tyres! They were a bit precarious but happily I managed to navigate it without any disasters. The trickiest bit was actually one of the planks which was shaped in such a way that if you stood near one end the other end "see-sawed" up several inches!

I chose a "Film Noir" mono conversion in Silverefex as I thought it gave a rather sinister appearance to the scene which I reckoned probably suited it. (OK there was also another reason - the phone camera had overexposed the sky but that didn't matter with the Film Noir effect.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.