Brootes Bottom

There's likely only one person here who will get the title and know exactly where this is taken from. Am I right?

I have to admit to being a bit naughty and, having been informed yesterday that this 9 year date was upon me, contriving for it to fall today, on a good day, something you can do once you have gaps! The grey skies cleared and the wind died down, providing a little window of opportunity for a 50+ mile circuit out in the Dales on my bike, visiting Malham for the first time in quite a while. It’s rare that I find my way out that far in January. I’ve become a bit of a winter wuss when it comes to cycling. I realised why over Malham Moor, finding it impossible to prevent my fingers from freezing, despite wearing mountaineering mittens and inner gloves. But it was worth it. The light at the end of the day was sensational and after having taken this shot, I felt able to simply enjoy the scenery without needing to stop again.

I’m now going to be cheeky and take the opportunity of having some extra eyeballs on this blip to share some big news. I have a publication date for a book, not the novel (dare I dream?) but a collaboration I’ve been working on quietly for the last few years, with poet Emma Storr. Offcumdens will be published by Fair Acre Press on March 17th. I’m not going to talk about it now but rather point to the page on the publisher’s website … here. I feel extremely privileged to have found someone eager to put my photographs out into the world, brought to life by Emma’s poems. We’re very proud of what we’ve created together. The website only mentions a paperback, but there’s a hardback edition too, which is, if I dare say so myself, very beautiful.

Blipfoto gets due acknowledgement, as does the great Schuh, who has been my biggest inspiration here, particularly in developing my love for black and white, square format images. All the photographs in the book are of that format. 

We’re having a couple of launch events, which are threatening to be quite big affairs. I think this is all part of my overwhelm at the moment. I’m not one for the limelight. I have to remember that this feeling of flatness and an inability to concentrate was pervasive for a long time after my accident. It’s now relatively rare. I forget that I’ve come a long way in the last few years. I used to live daily with vast amounts of stress in my working life as a software creator. Now, I kind of shutdown at the mere prospect of stress. But I’m coping better all the time. And I know I’ll be in good hands on the night!

You guys are amazing. Thanks for your continued support and visits and love, despite my sad lack of reciprocation. I guess you know what it’s like after a long life here. Final thought. It’s that time of year when new blippers are beginning their 365 projects. We all know how the first month is the hardest. Find someone to adopt and offer them a bit of support during the next few weeks. It can mean a lot when you’re trying to find your way here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.