DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Keep calm…

…and carry on!

My other practice is having a ‘mare at the moment with staff off with covid nothing to do with me!!, so we have been short staffed for the last week.

Usually, when dental nurses are in short supply, my diary would be cancelled and the nurses redeployed to help the dentists. However, at this place, he cancels his own list so I can still work!
When I arrived this morning, he was manning the reception desk. Now that’s a refreshing change from anywhere I’ve ever worked before.

In true team spirit, I’d offered to lend a hand if needed, so stayed on for the afternoon session so I could work with Dr Abs who is our cosmetic dentist.
I confess I had an ulterior motive; I wanted to pick up some pointers as I’m booked on another course to be able to do what he does.
Happily, much of what he did is what I already do, which is reassuring to know.

Abs asked if I was a mind reader, as several times I either offered up or asked if he wanted something which he was just about to ask for. Nothing psychic, just years of experience!

His first patient of the afternoon was an incredibly nervous one, so I introduced myself before we called him through and asked what playlist he’d like to listen to. I also set up the ‘aquarium’ on screen.

Despite his initial anxiety, he managed to have several filings done and I think he was as pleased with himself as he was with the treatment from us.

A good days work :-)

DQ x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.