Imagine the view....

By btc

Beach life: hanging out with the locals..

...I've got a bit more technology back so doing a backblip.

Decided to pay a visit to Sousse Madina (market). Sousse is Tunisia's 3rd largest city, the main body of which is a walled city that houses a large market and mosque.

The market does cater a lot for the tourist trade but caters equally for locals especially when it come to buying fresh meat, fish and spices.

Like most markets in North Africa, shop staff can smell a tourist from 50 yards and you get hassled to shit, I just try and look menacing and they usually go away (unless you are in Istanbul where they are a bit more persistent and before anyone says it I know that Istanbul is not North Africa).

The locals just look at me like I'm something that escaped off the starship enterprise, but I'm used to it. I do love getting in with the locals when I'm abroad and off the tourist track.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.